The Paramount Theater Named 2017 Outstanding Historic Theatre by the League of Historic American Theatres

The historic Paramount Theater of Charlottesville is thrilled to be named the 2017 Outstanding Historic Theatre by the League of Historic American Theatres! 

“We could not be more honored to receive this very distinguished award from The League of Historic American Theatres. Our pride for our Theater being recognized with this honor shines through every seat in the auditorium, every smile on a patron’s face, and every glimmer of excitement in a child’s eye when they see an event on stage. None of this would be possible without the foresight of those who saved and restored our beautiful Theater. To be recognized nationally as The Outstanding Historic Theatre for 2017 by such a prestigious organization, is an honor we share with our community and we plan to celebrate this honor with you all this season!” -Chris Eure, Executive Director

Founded in 1976 by 42 theaters across the country,which has grown to more than 350 historic theaters with more than 1,000 individual members, the League of Historic American Theaters (LHAT) is a non-profit organization with the mission to champion the preservation, restoration, and operation of historic theaters across North America for the benefit of their communities and future generations.

The Outstanding Historic Theatre Award recognizes a theater that demonstrates excellence through its community impact, quality of program and services, and quality of the restoration or rehabilitation of its historic structure. Former winners of this prestigious award include the distinguished Fabulous Fox in Atlanta, the New York City Center, the Mayo Performing Arts Center in Morristown, New Jersey, and Playhouse Square in Cleveland, Ohio to name a few. CLICK HERE to view a full list of Outstanding Historic Theatre Award winners.

The award was presented to the Executive Director of The Paramount Theater, Chris Eure, at the League’s 41st Annual Conference which took place in Los Angeles, California, July 16 – 19. The honor of the award received carries significant respect and excitement from colleagues in the arts world.

Pictured above: Ken Stein, Executive Director for The League of Historic American Theatres; Maran Garland, Director of Marketing for The Paramount Theater; Chris Eure, Executive Director for The Paramount Theater; David Gies, Board Member for The Paramount Theater; Chris Faulkner, Major Gifts Officer for The Paramount Theater; Janna Gies, wife of Board Member David Gies for The Paramount Theater; Jeffrey Gabel, Founding Executive Director for the Majestic Theater, Gettysburg PA, and Chair of the Board for The League of Historic American Theatres.


“The Paramount Theater of Charlottesville Named 2017 Outstanding Historic Theatre” Charlottesville Tomorrow

“Paramount Theater named 2017 Outstanding Historic Theatre by L.A.-based league”Daily Progress

“Paramount Theater Named Outstanding Historic Theatre for 2017” – NBC29

“Paramount Theater in Charlottesville wins national award”Virginia Business

“Congratulations to The Paramount! The Paramount was named the 2017 Outstanding Historic Theatre by the League of Historic American Theatres in recognition of its excellent programs and services, the quality of the restoration of its historic structure, and its outstanding community service. The Senior Center benefits from the Paramount’s generosity through the Mary Reese Community Access Fund.” – Senior Center